Type 1 vs. Type 2 surge protection under NEC 230.67 comes down to installation location and system fit, not a simple winner: Type 1 devices can connect on the supply side or load side of the service disconnect, while Type 2 devices connect on the load side. My best overall pick is the ABB THQLSURGE2 for buyers whose panel and installation plan suit its Type 1 design; the Leviton P2120-B stands out as a clearly specified split-phase Type 1 panel, while the Leviton B Series serves a very different 480Y/277V three-phase application. The main tradeoffs are Type 1 installation flexibility versus Type 2 placement, plus voltage, phase, panel compatibility, and enclosure requirements. NEC 230.67 generally calls for a Type 1 or Type 2 SPD at dwelling-unit services, subject to the adopted code and installation details. Read on for the full comparison and guidance on choosing a device that fits your electrical system.
Get the little things that make your day delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- Type labels do not determine panel fit: the Type 1 ABB THQLSURGE2 may suit a compatible installation, but its designation alone does not make it a match for every service or panel.
- Voltage and phase divide this lineup sharply: Leviton B Series is specified for 480Y/277V three-phase service, unlike the 120/240V split-phase residential options.
- Clear system specifications help narrow the field: Leviton P2120-B identifies split-phase voltage and 50 kA per phase, while buyers should verify comparable details for less fully specified listings.
- Some choices are tied to a panel family: Eaton Type BR and Square D Homeline make panel compatibility a primary selection factor, not a minor convenience.
- Type 1/Type 2 labeling does not replace code review: SpikeStopper’s dual designation may offer installation flexibility, but a qualified electrician still needs to confirm the permitted connection point and local code.
| Mersen STXH240S05 Split-Phase Residential Surge Protector | ![]() | Best Overall Type 1 Fit | Model: STXH240S05 | SPD type: Type 1 | Voltage: 120 V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device | ![]() | Best for Type BR Panel Owners | Brand: Eaton | Model: BRNSURGE | Part number: BRSURGE | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ABB ThomesurgeP Whole Home Surge Protection Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3R | ![]() | Best Type 1 for External Mounting | SPD type: Type 1 | Capacity: 36 kA | Voltage: 240 V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| LIDER Surge Protective Device Type 2 SPD, 120/240VAC Whole House Surge Protector with LED Indicator, Compatible with Siemens Eaton GE Panels | ![]() | Best Plug-In Type 2 Option | SPD type: Type 2 | Voltage: 120/240 VAC | Surge current capacity: 10 kA | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Leviton Type 1 Surge Protective Panel (P2120-B) – 120/240V Split Phase, 50kA per Phase | ![]() | Best for Enclosure and Status Monitoring | Model: P2120-B | SPD type: Type 1 | Voltage: 120/240 VAC split phase | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Leviton B Series Type 2 Surge Protective Panel, 480Y/277 VAC, Three-Phase Wye, 130 kA per Phase | ![]() | Best for Commercial Three-Phase Systems | Model: B3277-YB | SPD type: Type 2 surge protective panel | Voltage and phase: 480Y/277 VAC, three-phase Wye | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker Surge Protection Device, 120/240V | ![]() | Best for Compatible Homeline Load Centers | Model: HOM2175SB | Voltage and phase: 120/240 V AC, single phase | Wire configuration: 3-wire | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ABB THQLSURGE2 Whole Home Surge Protection Device Type 1 SPD | ![]() | Best Type 1 Pick for Compatible PowerMark Panels | Model: THQLSURGE2 | SPD type: Type 1 | Surge capacity: 25 kA per phase | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| SpikeStopper Whole-Home Type 1/Type 2 Surge Protection Device | ![]() | Best for Indoor-or-Outdoor Residential Installations | Protection type: Type 1/Type 2 SPD | Voltage and configuration: 120/240 VAC, split phase, 3W+G | Surge protection: 75 kA total | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Leviton R2120-B Type 1 Surge Protective Panel, 120/240 VAC, Split Phase | ![]() | Best Monitored Type 1 Option for Split-Phase Homes | Model: R2120-B | SPD type: Type 1 | Voltage and phase: 120/240 VAC, split phase | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| type 1 vs type 2 surge protection nec 23067 | Model | SPD type | Voltage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mersen STXH240S05 Split-Phase | STXH240S05 | Type 1 | 120 V |
| Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit | BRNSURGE | — | 240 V |
| ABB ThomesurgeP Whole Home Sur | — | Type 1 | 240 V |
| LIDER Surge Protective Device | — | Type 2 | 120/240 VAC |
| Leviton Type 1 Surge Protectiv | P2120-B | Type 1 | 120/240 VAC split phase |
| Leviton B Series Type 2 Surge | B3277-YB | Type 2 surge protective panel | — |
| Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker | HOM2175SB | — | — |
| ABB THQLSURGE2 Whole Home Surg | THQLSURGE2 | Type 1 | — |
| SpikeStopper Whole-Home Type 1 | — | — | — |
| Leviton R2120-B Type 1 Surge P | R2120-B | Type 1 | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Mersen STXH240S05 Split-Phase Residential Surge Protector
For a buyer comparing Type 1 versus Type 2 under NEC 230.67, the Mersen STXH240S05 is a clear service-entrance-style choice: its listing identifies it as a Type 1 SPD and cites UL 1449 4th Edition and NEC 2020 Article 230.67. Its stated 50,000 A maximum current and TPMOV technology give it a stronger documented specification story than the Eaton BRNSURGE, whose supplied details do not state comparable surge performance or an NEC listing. The tradeoff is installation: this unit belongs at the load center and is not a plug-in convenience option like the LIDER Type 2. I’d favor it when documented Type 1 positioning matters, but the supplied data does not specify voltage protection levels or status monitoring, so buyers wanting those details should compare the ABB or Leviton options.
Pros:- Identified as a Type 1 SPD and cites UL 1449 4th Edition and NEC 2020 Article 230.67.
- 50,000 A maximum current is stated in the product data.
- Mersen TPMOV technology is specified.
- Designed for whole-home protection at the load center.
Cons:- Load-center installation may require a qualified electrician.
- The supplied specifications do not state voltage protection levels or include a status indicator.
- The listed connected-equipment warranty has conditions that are not detailed in the supplied data.
Best for: Homeowners and electricians seeking a documented Type 1 residential SPD with stated UL 1449 and NEC 230.67 compliance.
Not ideal for: DIY buyers seeking a simple plug-in installation, or shoppers who require published clamping levels and a visible status indicator.
- Model:STXH240S05
- SPD type:Type 1
- Voltage:120 V
- Maximum current:50,000 A
- Amperage:150 A
- Standards:UL 1449 4th Edition; NEC 2020 Article 230.67
- Technology:Mersen TPMOV
- Warranty:3-year manufacturer warranty; $25,000 connected-equipment warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Mersen when a residential Type 1 device with cited NEC 230.67 and UL 1449 credentials is the priority and panel installation is acceptable.”
Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit Breaker Surge Protective Device
The Eaton BRNSURGE is the lineup’s most panel-specific choice: it is a two-pole, 240 V device designed for panel mounting, which may suit an existing Eaton Type BR setup better than the external-wall ABB ThomesurgeP. Its compact stated weight of 5.6 ounces also contrasts with the separate enclosure used by the Leviton P2120-B. But the product data leaves out key evidence for a Type 1 versus Type 2 comparison: it does not identify the SPD type, list a surge-current rating, or cite UL 1449 or NEC 230.67 compliance. That makes it difficult to judge protection capability from the supplied details alone. I’d treat it as a narrowly targeted panel accessory, not as the best-documented option for a buyer specifically shopping by NEC 230.67 requirements.
Pros:- Two-pole configuration is specified.
- Rated for 240 V.
- Panel-mount design avoids a separate external enclosure.
- Light listed weight of 5.6 ounces.
Cons:- Supplied details do not state its Type 1 or Type 2 classification.
- No surge-current rating or voltage protection level is provided.
- The supplied product data does not cite UL 1449 or NEC 230.67 compliance.
Best for: Owners of compatible Eaton Type BR panels who want a two-pole, panel-mounted surge device and can verify fit and listing details with the manufacturer or electrician.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need clearly stated Type 1 or Type 2 classification, surge-current capacity, or documented NEC 230.67 and UL 1449 credentials.
- Brand:Eaton
- Model:BRNSURGE
- Part number:BRSURGE
- Poles:2
- Voltage:240 V
- Mounting:Panel mount
- Circuit breaker type:Standard
- Item weight:5.6 oz
Our verdict“Consider the Eaton only when its panel compatibility is confirmed and you can obtain the missing classification and performance details before purchase.”
ABB ThomesurgeP Whole Home Surge Protection Device, Type 1 SPD, NEMA 3R
The ABB ThomesurgeP pairs an explicit Type 1 classification with external wall mounting, making it a useful alternative when a panel-mounted device like the Eaton BRNSURGE is not the preferred format. Its stated 36 kA capacity, 200 kA SCCR, and LED status indicator give buyers more installation and monitoring detail than the Eaton listing provides. Compared with the Mersen STXH240S05, ABB calls out universal load-center compatibility and external mounting, while Mersen supplies an explicit NEC 2020 Article 230.67 reference and a higher stated maximum current. The ABB’s tradeoff is space and installation: an external enclosure needs a suitable mounting location, and the product data says installation typically calls for a qualified electrician. Its listing says UL listed and ANSI certified, but does not specifically cite NEC 230.67.
Pros:- Explicitly identified as a Type 1 SPD.
- 36 kA capacity and 200 kA SCCR are stated.
- External wall-mount format does not occupy breaker spaces.
- LED status indicator plus stated UL listing and ANSI certification.
Cons:- External mounting requires a suitable location and additional space.
- Installation typically requires a qualified electrician.
- The supplied data does not specifically cite NEC 230.67 compliance.
Best for: Homeowners or electricians who need a Type 1 SPD with an external enclosure, status indication, and stated compatibility across load-center brands.
Not ideal for: Buyers with limited mounting space or those who require the product listing itself to cite NEC 230.67 compliance.
- SPD type:Type 1
- Capacity:36 kA
- Voltage:240 V
- SCCR:200 kA
- Nominal discharge current:10 kA
- Mounting:External wall mount
- Poles:2
- Certifications:UL listed; ANSI certified
Our verdict“Pick the ABB when external mounting, broad load-center compatibility, and an LED status indicator matter more than a stated NEC 230.67 reference or a higher current figure.”
LIDER Surge Protective Device Type 2 SPD, 120/240VAC Whole House Surge Protector with LED Indicator, Compatible with Siemens Eaton GE Panels
The LIDER is the lineup’s clearest Type 2, plug-in counterpoint to the Type 1 Mersen and ABB units. It fits selected Siemens SN, Eaton BRP, and GE TLM panels, and its LED gives a quick visual indication of device status. That can make it a straightforward choice when panel compatibility is confirmed and a plug-on format is preferred over the ABB’s external enclosure. Its stated 10 kA surge capacity, however, is below the 36 kA ABB and 50,000 A Mersen figures supplied for those Type 1 devices; those ratings should not be treated as a direct apples-to-apples measure without matching test conditions. The LIDER listing also identifies UL listing but does not cite NEC 230.67. Its narrow panel compatibility and replacement trigger when the LED turns red are meaningful ownership limits.
Pros:- Clearly identified as a Type 2 SPD.
- Plug-in mounting can avoid adding a separate external enclosure.
- LED indicator provides a visible protection-status check.
- Lists 120/240 VAC operation and selected Siemens, Eaton, and GE panel compatibility.
Cons:- Compatibility is limited to specified panel series and breaker types.
- Stated surge-current capacity is 10 kA, below the figures listed for the ABB and Mersen options.
- The product data does not specifically cite NEC 230.67 compliance, and a red LED indicates replacement is needed.
Best for: Homeowners with a listed compatible Siemens SN, Eaton BRP, or GE TLM panel who want a Type 2 plug-in SPD and visible status monitoring.
Not ideal for: Buyers with other panel families, shoppers seeking a Type 1 service-entrance device, or anyone who needs an explicit NEC 230.67 reference in the supplied listing.
- SPD type:Type 2
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge current capacity:10 kA
- SCCR:10 kA
- Voltage protection, L-N:800 V
- Voltage protection, L-L:1500 V
- Mounting:Plug-in
- Compatible panels:Siemens SN Series; Eaton BRP Series; GE TLM Series
Our verdict“Choose the LIDER for a compatible panel and a clearly labeled Type 2 plug-in format, but not when Type 1 classification or explicit NEC 230.67 documentation is your priority.”
Leviton Type 1 Surge Protective Panel (P2120-B) – 120/240V Split Phase, 50kA per Phase
The Leviton P2120-B suits buyers who want a Type 1 panel with more visible status information and a tougher enclosure than the basic device descriptions in this roundup provide. Its stated 50 kA per phase and 25 kA per mode make it a strong specification-led alternative to the ABB ThomesurgeP, which lists 36 kA capacity and an LED but not an audible alarm. Leviton adds both LED monitoring and an audible alarm, along with a NEMA 4X enclosure—useful when the installation environment calls for a more robust enclosure. The Mersen STXH240S05, by comparison, explicitly references NEC 2020 Article 230.67, while the supplied Leviton data cites UL 1449 but not that NEC article. Its stated use is residential and light commercial, so heavy industrial buyers should look elsewhere.
Pros:- Identified as a Type 1 SPD with 50 kA per phase and 25 kA per mode stated.
- NEMA 4X enclosure is specified.
- LED status monitoring and audible alarm offer two ways to identify device status.
- UL 1449 listing is stated.
Cons:- Positioned for residential and light-commercial use, not heavy industrial applications.
- The supplied product data does not specifically cite NEC 230.67 compliance.
- The listing does not state a connected-equipment warranty or installation format.
Best for: Residential or light-commercial buyers seeking a Type 1 SPD with a NEMA 4X enclosure and both visual and audible status alerts.
Not ideal for: Heavy-industrial sites, or buyers who require an explicit NEC 230.67 reference in the product data rather than a UL 1449 listing alone.
- Model:P2120-B
- SPD type:Type 1
- Voltage:120/240 VAC split phase
- Maximum surge current:25 kA per mode; 50 kA per phase
- MCOV:180 V
- Enclosure:NEMA 4X
- Status alerts:LED monitoring; audible alarm
- Listing:UL 1449
Our verdict“Choose the Leviton when a Type 1 device’s enclosure and audible-plus-visual alerts matter more than an explicit NEC 230.67 citation or industrial application support.”
Leviton B Series Type 2 Surge Protective Panel, 480Y/277 VAC, Three-Phase Wye, 130 kA per Phase
For a 480Y/277 VAC three-phase Wye service, this Leviton panel stands apart from the residential products in this roundup: its 130 kA-per-phase rating and commercial-oriented enclosure suit equipment and systems that need a dedicated Type 2 SPD. Thermally protected MOVs, LED status monitoring, and an audible alarm give maintenance staff more than a silent protective component; the alarm can flag a status issue that deserves attention. Its NEMA 4X enclosure also supports tougher installation environments than the indoor-only Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker. The tradeoff is narrow electrical compatibility: it is not a substitute for a 120/240 V residential SPD, and Type 2 placement must match the applicable installation requirements. I’d shortlist it for a qualifying commercial panel, not as a general-purpose home upgrade.
Pros:- 130 kA maximum surge current per phase
- NEMA 4X-rated enclosure for demanding installation conditions
- LED status monitoring and an audible alarm
- Thermally protected MOVs and EMI/RFI filtering
Cons:- Limited to compatible 480Y/277 VAC three-phase Wye systems
- Type 2 installation location must be checked against the system design and applicable code
- Commercial electrical requirements make it a poor fit for typical residential panels
Best for: Commercial or light-industrial facility owners with a compatible 480Y/277 VAC three-phase Wye system who want audible and visual device status.
Not ideal for: Homeowners with 120/240 V split-phase service or buyers who need a Type 1 service-entrance device; this panel’s voltage and Type 2 configuration do not match those needs.
- Model:B3277-YB
- SPD type:Type 2 surge protective panel
- Voltage and phase:480Y/277 VAC, three-phase Wye
- Maximum surge current:65 kA per mode / 130 kA per phase
- VPR:L-N, L-G, N-G: 1200 V; L-L: 2500 V
- Monitoring:LED status monitoring and audible alarm
- Enclosure:NEMA 4X
- Listings:UL 1449; UL 1283
Our verdict“Choose this Leviton when your commercial system is 480Y/277 VAC three-phase Wye and you need a monitored Type 2 panel, not a residential service-entry SPD.”
Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker Surge Protection Device, 120/240V
This plug-on device makes the most sense for a buyer who already has a Square D Homeline load center and wants a compact, panel-specific option. It takes two pole positions and shows operational status with an LED, making its fit and basic monitoring straightforward. Compared with the ABB THQLSURGE2, which is a Type 1 SPD for selected PowerMark panels, this SurgeBreaker is intended for a different load-center family and is described as protecting the electrical service and major household appliances—not electronic devices. That limitation matters: it should not be treated as a complete answer to every surge-sensitive load or as a generic NEC 230.67 solution without checking the device and installation requirements. Its narrow compatibility is also the main tradeoff; buyers without Homeline equipment should compare more broadly compatible panel or external options.
Pros:- Plug-on installation for compatible Homeline load centers
- LED operational-status indicator
- Compact device requiring two pole positions
- UL listed for indoor use
Cons:- Requires a compatible Homeline load center and two available pole positions
- Not intended to protect electronic devices
- Listed maximum current is 10 kA, lower than several dedicated SPDs in this roundup
Best for: Homeowners with a compatible Square D Homeline 120/240 V single-phase load center who want a plug-on SPD for service and major-appliance protection.
Not ideal for: Owners of non-Homeline panels or buyers seeking stated protection for electronic devices; this model is panel-specific and its description excludes those devices.
- Model:HOM2175SB
- Voltage and phase:120/240 V AC, single phase
- Wire configuration:3-wire
- Maximum current:10 kA
- SCCR:22.5 kA
- Installation:Plug-on; requires two spaces
- Status indicator:LED operational status
- Listing:UL listed for indoor use
Our verdict“Pick the Homeline SurgeBreaker only if panel compatibility and appliance-focused protection match your needs; otherwise, compare a dedicated SPD suited to your panel and loads.”
ABB THQLSURGE2 Whole Home Surge Protection Device Type 1 SPD
The ABB THQLSURGE2 is the clearest Type 1 choice here for a homeowner whose panel is a compatible ABB or GE PowerMark load center. Its plug-in format and LED indicator keep installation and status checks more direct than an external device such as the SpikeStopper, which calls for a universal four-wire installation. The stated 25 kA per phase capacity provides a useful point of comparison, but it should not be read as a guarantee against every surge or as proof of compatibility with other panels. Unlike the Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker, this unit is identified as a Type 1 SPD and is described as compliant with NEC 2023 Article 230.67. Its principal drawback is the restricted load-center fit; buyers should verify the exact panel model and have installation handled by a qualified professional.
Pros:- Type 1 SPD with stated NEC 2023 Article 230.67 compliance
- 25 kA surge capacity per phase
- Plug-in mounting and LED status indicator
- UL listed
Cons:- Limited to compatible ABB and GE PowerMark load centers
- Requires two panel spaces and two poles
- The stated capacity alone does not describe performance for every surge condition
Best for: Homeowners with an ABB or GE PowerMark load center who want a plug-on Type 1 SPD with an LED status indicator.
Not ideal for: Buyers with other load-center brands, or anyone unable to confirm PowerMark compatibility; the device’s stated fit is limited.
- Model:THQLSURGE2
- SPD type:Type 1
- Surge capacity:25 kA per phase
- Mounting:Plug-in
- Poles and spaces:Two poles; two spaces
- Status indicator:LED
- Load-center compatibility:ABB and GE PowerMark load centers
- Compliance and listing:UL listed; stated NEC 2023 Article 230.67 compliance
Our verdict“Choose the ABB THQLSURGE2 for a confirmed compatible PowerMark panel when a plug-on Type 1 device is your priority.”
SpikeStopper Whole-Home Type 1/Type 2 Surge Protection Device
The SpikeStopper’s distinctive advantage is installation flexibility: its NEMA 4X enclosure is described for indoor or outdoor use, and the device is aimed at residential panels, disconnects, HVAC equipment, irrigation systems, and pool pumps. That makes it a different proposition from the ABB THQLSURGE2, which is a panel-specific plug-on Type 1 SPD, and the Leviton R2120-B, a dedicated Type 1 residential panel. The SpikeStopper is labeled Type 1/Type 2 and states 75 kA total surge protection, but that total rating is not directly comparable with per-phase ratings such as the Leviton’s 36 kA per phase. Its universal four-wire installation also calls for careful wiring and fit checks. I’d favor it when the mounting location matters more than a plug-on format, while confirming the actual system and installation requirements first.
Pros:- Type 1/Type 2 designation for residential applications
- NEMA 4X enclosure rated for indoor or outdoor use
- 75 kA total surge protection stated
- Mountable design with a light indicator
Cons:- Requires universal four-wire installation
- 75 kA total rating is not directly comparable to per-phase ratings
- The supplied data does not specify detailed voltage-protection ratings
Best for: Homeowners or property managers protecting residential service, HVAC, irrigation, or pool equipment where an indoor-or-outdoor enclosure is useful.
Not ideal for: DIY buyers seeking a simple plug-on panel device or anyone unable to confirm four-wire compatibility and the installation details for their system.
- Protection type:Type 1/Type 2 SPD
- Voltage and configuration:120/240 VAC, split phase, 3W+G
- Surge protection:75 kA total
- Installation:Universal four-wire
- Enclosure:NEMA 4X, indoor or outdoor
- Certification:cUL listed
- Code compliance:Stated NEC 2023 compliance
- Warranty:5 years
Our verdict“Choose the SpikeStopper when outdoor-capable mounting and coverage for residential equipment are priorities, provided a qualified installer confirms the wiring and fit.”
Leviton R2120-B Type 1 Surge Protective Panel, 120/240 VAC, Split Phase
For a residential buyer focused on the Type 1 versus Type 2 distinction, the Leviton R2120-B offers a dedicated 120/240 VAC split-phase Type 1 design rather than the commercial 480Y/277 V Type 2 panel also listed here. Its 36 kA-per-phase maximum surge current, thermally protected MOVs, LED status monitoring, and NEMA 4X enclosure give it a clear residential role. Compared with the ABB THQLSURGE2, it is not presented as a plug-on device limited to PowerMark load centers; compared with the SpikeStopper, it has a more specific Type 1 designation rather than a combined Type 1/Type 2 label. The key tradeoff is missing fit information: the supplied data does not spell out wiring, mounting, or panel compatibility. I’d verify those details before choosing it for a particular service.
Pros:- Dedicated Type 1 design for 120/240 VAC split-phase systems
- 36 kA maximum surge current per phase
- NEMA 4X-rated enclosure
- Thermally protected MOVs and LED status monitoring
Cons:- Installation details and compatibility requirements are not provided
- Warranty duration is not stated
- Maximum surge current is lower than the 50 kA-per-phase Leviton P2120-B listed elsewhere in the roundup
Best for: Homeowners with 120/240 V split-phase service seeking a dedicated Type 1 SPD with LED status monitoring and a weather-resistant enclosure.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need confirmed panel compatibility, specified installation instructions, or a stated warranty duration before selecting a device.
- Model:R2120-B
- SPD type:Type 1
- Voltage and phase:120/240 VAC, split phase
- Maximum surge current:18 kA per mode / 36 kA per phase
- Maximum continuous operating voltage:180 V
- Status monitoring:LED
- Enclosure:NEMA 4X-rated plastic
- Listing:UL 1449
Our verdict“Consider the R2120-B for split-phase residential service when its Type 1 design fits, but confirm panel compatibility and installation details before purchase.”

How We Picked
I compared these ten devices around the decisions that matter for NEC 230.67 installations: SPD type and permitted connection point, voltage and phase, stated surge rating, enclosure suitability, panel compatibility, and how clearly each listing communicates those details. A strong nominal rating cannot compensate for a voltage mismatch or an incompatible panel, so system fit and usable specifications carried more weight than headline capacity alone.
The ordering reflects how broadly a product may serve its stated buyer and how much information supports a confident match. Options with a clearly defined residential split-phase use case rise above devices aimed at a narrow commercial voltage or panel family, while specialized picks remain valuable for their intended systems. Product names and supplied specifications do not establish code compliance on their own; I treat code adoption, installation location, and manufacturer instructions as items for confirmation with the electrician and authority having jurisdiction.
| type 1 vs type 2 surge protection nec 23067 | SPD type |
|---|---|
| Mersen STXH240S05 Split-Phase | Type 1 |
| Eaton Type BR Two-Pole Circuit | — |
| ABB ThomesurgeP Whole Home Sur | Type 1 |
| LIDER Surge Protective Device | Type 2 |
| Leviton Type 1 Surge Protectiv | Type 1 |
| Leviton B Series Type 2 Surge | Type 2 surge protective panel |
| Square D Homeline SurgeBreaker | — |
| ABB THQLSURGE2 Whole Home Surg | Type 1 |
| SpikeStopper Whole-Home Type 1 | — |
| Leviton R2120-B Type 1 Surge P | Type 1 |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Type 1 Vs Type 2 Surge Protection Nec 23067
Choosing between Type 1 and Type 2 is only the first filter. I would confirm the service configuration and installation location before comparing ratings, then check how the device fits the panel, enclosure, and local code requirements.
Match the SPD Type to the Connection Point
Type 1 and Type 2 describe where an SPD is permitted to connect relative to the service equipment, not a universal ranking of protection strength. Type 1 devices may connect on the supply side or load side of the service disconnect when installed according to their listing and instructions; Type 2 devices connect on the load side. NEC 230.67 requires surge protection for covered dwelling-unit services, but the adopted edition and local amendments determine the governing details. A common mistake is choosing by the word “Type 1” alone and assuming it can go anywhere. Ask the electrician to identify the intended connection point before you buy. A dual Type 1/Type 2 label can broaden possible placements, but it does not remove installation restrictions.
Confirm Voltage, Phase, and Service Configuration
Check the system voltage and phase on the service equipment, not just the product title. A 120/240V split-phase residential device is not interchangeable with a 480Y/277V three-phase SPD, even if both are marketed for whole-building protection. Also verify the grounding and neutral arrangement required by the device and the electrical system. Buyers can overlook these details when they focus on surge-current figures, then discover that the product cannot serve their installation. If a building has multiple panels or an unusual service, have an electrician map the equipment before selecting an SPD. Matching the electrical system first prevents an impressive specification from becoming irrelevant.
Treat Panel Compatibility as a Separate Check
Some SPDs are designed around a specific panel family or breaker format, while others use a separate enclosure and wiring method. “Compatible with” language should be checked against the exact panel model, bus design, breaker requirements, and manufacturer documentation. A breaker-style unit may offer a tidy installation in its intended panel, but it is not automatically a universal add-on. For a separately mounted device, account for the permitted conductor length and routing in the installation instructions, since a poor layout can undermine the intended protection. Before ordering, share the panel label and SPD model with the installer. This check is more useful than relying on broad brand names alone.
Compare Ratings Only After Fit Is Established
Surge-current ratings can help compare devices, but they are not a direct promise of how much protection a home will experience. Check what the stated number represents, such as per phase or per mode, and review the manufacturer’s full performance specifications and warranty terms. A large kA figure does not correct a voltage mismatch, weak installation plan, or incompatible panel. Buyers should also look for status indicators or other means of identifying when the SPD needs attention; an indicator is useful only if someone checks it. I would compare ratings among devices with the same voltage, phase, and installation class rather than across unrelated systems. This keeps the decision grounded in practical fit.
Plan for Enclosure, Location, and Maintenance
The installation environment affects whether a device’s enclosure and mounting arrangement are suitable. Outdoor or exposed locations call for an enclosure rating appropriate to the site, while indoor panel installations raise different access and wiring questions. Check the product instructions for temperature limits, mounting position, conductor requirements, and any maintenance or replacement indicators. A serviceable indicator can make it easier to notice a failed protection component, but it does not mean the device is maintenance-free. Avoid choosing a compact or convenient format without confirming that the electrician can install it as directed. The best form factor is the one that fits the site and remains accessible for inspection.
Use Code and Installation Costs to Set the Budget
Paying more can make sense when a device provides the correct voltage and phase, suitable enclosure, clearer diagnostics, or a better fit for a specialized service. It is less useful to spend extra on capacity that does not address the system’s actual requirements. Installation labor, panel access, breaker availability, and any service-side work can affect the total project more than the device choice. Ask whether the selected SPD satisfies the adopted NEC requirements for the dwelling and whether the authority having jurisdiction has additional rules. A licensed electrician can also explain whether one SPD or protection at more than one distribution point is appropriate for the installation. Compare complete, code-reviewed plans rather than device labels alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does NEC 230.67 require a Type 1 SPD instead of a Type 2 SPD?
No. NEC 230.67 permits a listed Type 1 or Type 2 SPD for covered dwelling-unit services, subject to the adopted code edition and installation requirements. The relevant distinction is the allowed connection point: Type 1 may connect on the supply side or load side of the service disconnect, while Type 2 connects on the load side. That does not mean every device of either type fits every service. Confirm the local code edition and the proposed location with a licensed electrician or the authority having jurisdiction.
Can I choose a Type 1 device if my panel is already installed?
Possibly, but the device’s type does not establish that it fits your panel or that the installation point is permitted. Some Type 1 models are separately mounted, while others have a panel-specific format or connection requirements. The electrician should check the panel model, service disconnect arrangement, available space, conductor routing, and manufacturer instructions. If a suitable Type 2 device offers a simpler approved load-side installation, the Type 1 label alone is not a reason to prefer another option. Decide from the actual equipment and installation plan.
Is a 480Y/277V SPD suitable for a typical 120/240V home?
No, those ratings describe different electrical systems. The Leviton B Series in this roundup is specified for 480Y/277V three-phase service, while common residential split-phase options are specified for 120/240V. Do not try to infer compatibility from a brand name, enclosure style, or surge-current figure. Read the device label and installation documentation, then compare them with the service equipment. If the service configuration is unclear, have an electrician identify it before purchasing.
Should I prioritize a higher kA rating or a better panel match?
Start with voltage, phase, listing, and panel or connection compatibility; a higher kA figure cannot fix a mismatch in any of those areas. Once you have comparable devices for the same system and installation class, surge ratings and other performance specifications can help distinguish them. Check whether figures are stated per phase or another basis so you are not comparing unlike measurements. Also review status indication, enclosure suitability, and manufacturer instructions. A correctly selected and installed device is a stronger choice than a higher-rated model that does not fit the service.
Does a Type 1/Type 2 dual-rated SPD remove the need for an electrician?
No. Dual-rated wording can indicate that the SPD is suitable for more than one permitted connection arrangement, but the exact listing and manufacturer instructions still control. The installer must confirm the service configuration, connection point, overcurrent protection, conductor routing, grounding details, and local code requirements. Service equipment can present a serious shock and arc-flash hazard, so this is not a do-it-yourself panel project. Ask a licensed electrician to verify the device for the intended location and coordinate with the local authority when required.
Conclusion
My best overall pick is the ABB THQLSURGE2 for buyers whose panel and installation plan match its Type 1 design. For a clearly specified 120/240V split-phase Type 1 option, the Leviton P2120-B is the stronger fit; the best value depends on panel compatibility and the complete installed plan rather than the device label alone. The best premium or specialized choice for 480Y/277V three-phase service is the Leviton B Series, while beginners should start by asking an electrician to confirm system voltage, phase, and panel model before choosing between the Eaton Type BR or Square D Homeline panel-specific options. For buyers seeking placement flexibility, consider the SpikeStopper only after verifying its listing and permitted connection point. Match the SPD to the actual service first, then use the type, ratings, enclosure, and indicators to settle the final choice.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.










